German Shepherds Forum banner

1 - 20 of 30 Posts

·
Registered
1,593 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am still new to the breed and have only had my Koda for about 5 months, but I have some questions about GSDs and Dogs in general. Koda turns 2 this month and he is still long lanky and often called a she... not a he. He eats 2 lbs of raw food per day as well as an egg, and potatoes. As well as other goodies. So he gets plenty of calories in his diet. Getting off track...

I know some people know what line(s) their GSD comes from and know that that line in particular has been known to fill out slower than others. I understand that Koda was most likely not bred from amazing pedigrees and most likely doesn't fit the mold for any certain type/line of GSDs. Is there anything I can do to encourage my guy to fill out?

And can you guess his "lines" from his photos? Like "his head and angles look to be German showlines, but his scrawny neck is from the Am. Showlines."

I was also thinking about his weight, I got him and he was 79lbs he is now 85lbs and looks healthy to me. When his chest fills out, should I expect any additional weight? Say 5-10 lbs. Is it possible he will stay scrawny forever?????

One last thing....How can I beef up his neck? This is a weird question, I know, but he really does have the skinniest neck for a GSD. I mean Koda is 29'' at the withers and a pretty big boy, but I can fit my hands around his neck... seems weird.

Ok here are some pictures in case anyone wants to help me with guessing his possible origins.

When we first got him at 79 lbs.

After playing with the hose...still 80 lbs and scrawny

In December...Closest thing I have to a mug shot.. I mean head shot.

After the dog park (approx. 85lbs here)

Looking pretty good at the Christmas Party

Might be a better head angle, and it shows his thin body some.

I will take more picture after our Hike tomorrow. Thanks for the opinions!

·
Registered
76 Posts
Hi,