German Shepherds Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
22 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
We adopted a 1 year old male GSD a month ago, 11/24. He had been a stray picked up by animal control and was reportedly severely emaciated when picked up in Sept. Animal control turned him over to a private rescue shortly after receiving him since they didn't have resources to rehab him. We adopted him from the private rescue, and he was still underweight when we got him, but no longer emaciated Our vet says he seems healthy except for needing to put on weight. I've no experience with this kind of medical problem. We're feeding him as directed by our vet, but I'm worried that he's not putting weight on fast enough. We took him for a weigh in a week ago and he was 71 lbs. I can still see his ribs, although he has filled in a little there in the last month. He seems to get tired fairly easily too. Anyone have experience with this? How long should it take to get to a normal weight? Is the stamina issue related to his having been emaciated or could there be another underlying medical issue? Just worried about his health.

·
Super Moderator
8,677 Posts
I wouldn’t rush weight gain...2lbs per week is sufficient. What are you feeding? What rate is he currently gaining? What area are you in, has he been tested for heartworm?

·
Registered
6,164 Posts
I'm with Fodder: SLOW, steady weight gain is essential! Fast weight gain after emaciation can actually lead to very serious problems. We have our fosters do weekly vet weigh ins during rehab when we have a dog like this -- the rescue's vet monitors the gain really closely.

Has your vet run a fecal test on him? Intestinal parasites can play a BIG role in weight loss (and difficulty recovering from it). We usually run these dogs through with Panacur for 3-5 days as nearly all of them in our area seem to have hookworms and whipworms.