German Shepherds Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi All!

First off my name is Matthew, and I have been a lurker on this website for quite some time. The amount of information on here is insurmountable. It's exciting for an outsider like me to see the passion and love everyone here has for their dogs. I am from the Cincinnati, OH area and have been looking into the breed for as long as I can remember. I currently don't have any pets right now, and have been fascinated with the GSD breed for as long as I can remember.

I work as an EMT working three 12 hour shifts a week, and have been quite seriously thinking of adding a GSD to my home. I have been looking for some breeders and found some amazing resources on this website of some in the Cincinnati/Northern Kentucky area on here. I've called/emailed a lot of them and think I found one that I would like to purchase a puppy from. The breeder is Vom Buflod German Shepherds and they are breeders just north of Cincinnati (Home Page). I have spoken with the breeder (Kathy) a few times and she is extremely helpful. I have been looking for more of a show-line type dog of German background, and this is what most of her dogs are. I was wondering if anyone has had any experience with this breeder? Or can provide some insight?

I was thinking about purchasing one of the puppies from the upcoming litters and I looked at the pedigrees for each of the two upcoming ones and I'm a little clueless as to which, if either, would be the better of the two litters. I was unable to find anything on Marko vom Buflod, not sure why and haven't checked into it too much yet. If anyone can take a look who knows more about it than me, that would be fantastic.

I am also open to adoption, but most that I have found either on PetFinder or other sites require a fenced yard (which I do not have) or must be a highly experienced handler (which I also am not!).