German Shepherds Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
2,081 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Or even usa I kinda am confused. I have a vet tech degree. Don't like the life of a vet tech at all. I would really like to do something else. I have looked after 2 vet boarding kennels with cats and dogs. Also for past 3 years have taken care of many exotic pets.

I have 2 vet references who would give me good word from the great job i did for them plus a licensed dog behaviorist who knows me and had me look after his dogs while he was away. But i have always done this stuff on the side. Id really like to go further though.

Any idea on finding clients? Is there a canadian app we can use on our iphones for ontario area that might help? I know about kjiji and craiglist. So far i made flyers that you can cut off my info to take home. But in Brampton no places to really put them up! I do have one client i see twice a week seems to be going well so far. But really unsure how most get started in this. Any ideas?

Thanks.

·
Registered
2,206 Posts
Flyers in vet clinics and grooming shops. Contact the local kennel clubs and see if they will let you advertise in their news letter or in their club. Also check Canuckdogs and see what shows are coming up locally and find out if you can place a small ad in the catalogue.

·
Registered
5,328 Posts
First you need to figure out how much you need to make etc. etc.
Next, either rental or own, there are zoning by-laws regarding home run businesses. Then there are by-laws about the amount of "dogs" Incl. companion animals you are allowed at one time at one residence.
For example, Toronto, you are allowed 6 pets...MAX combo between cats dogs and other is 3 dogs ONLY, including your own.
In Mississauga (Brampton is considered Peel Region) the MAX pets is 4 @ 3 DOGS, max. including own pets/dogs.
SO if you own 2 dogs, you can only have 1 client on your property.
If you are dog walking...3 max per tour.

·
Registered
743 Posts