German Shepherds Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
877 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
The dogs have been on a liquid hyaluronic acid supplement for a while now, and I recently purchased a different type and have some questions.

The original one I was using was one made for dogs- it was a multi-sup, had MSM and glucosamine in it as well. I was more or less happy with it, but the cost was getting a little high so I finally took the advise of Ridley's breeder and purchased a horse HA supplement for the same price but much more concentrated.

But clearly I neglected to completely research the particular one I purchased (Corta-flx HA), as I'm now seeing sodium benzoate as a preservative for the product.

Now, I'm no expert on this, but I also give them a Vit C supplement (as Ester C), AND this product has as ascorbic acid in it.... and from what I remember, these two things can combine to create benzene, a known carcinogen.

What are the thoughts on this? I'm a little afraid to give this now, as I don't want to do anything to harm my dogs, but I also worry I might be overreacting.

·
Registered
5,806 Posts
I recall reading about that carcinagenic combo happening in some soda pop a while back. I wonder if feeding the Ester C in the AM and the Cortafix in the PM would solve it? Dunno--that's a question for a nutritionist or holistic vet.

I've recently been using this human-grade supplement which has the hyaluonic acid with collagen II and chondroitin:
Vitacost Hyaluronic Acid with BioCell Collagen II® -- 100 mg per serving- 240 Capsules - Vitacost

I'm not sure how the cost compares to what you were getting, but I want the Collagen II for my senior's arthritis. A few weeks ago, it was on sale at Vitacost for buy-one-get-one-half-off, which made it pretty reasonable. (It's not on sale now, but I can PM you a code for new customers to get a $10 credit--just let me know.)

·
Registered
877 Posts
Discussion Starter #3