German Shepherds Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi everyone I am a new member with a new puppy.
Kira is 11 weeks old and apart from a little nipping is great with myself and family.
She is however very nervous when outside and hears other dogs barking or cars passing.
Is this normal for her age or should I be concerned.
Thank you all in advance and the site is great .

·
Registered
37 Posts
Im no expert by any means but think it seems pretty normal being that she is still a baby and the outside world I would imagine is so big and unfamiliar to her. I'm sure over time she will become more accustomed and once socialized more as she gets older with different people, places, and things they wont all seem so scary. Congrats on your new pup and welcome! :)

·
Registered
6,912 Posts
A puppy should not be very nervous over anything at that age. If anything, they should want to conquer the world.

Where did you get her from and at what age? What kind of socialization has she had before you got her? How were the parents if you got to meet them?

·
Registered
1 Posts
Puppy timidity

My GSD was also very scared of everything. He would bark or cower from tree stumps, potted plants and even a balloon. He was my first dog, I had no idea if this was normal or not. I took him to the local dog park and he became much more comfortable with everything. He is now 7 yrs old and is a fabulous dog.

·
Premium Member
751 Posts
Keep taking your puppy for brisk walks and don't allow her time to get scared. I know she is young and you can't go far but start now and keep her focused on you . I did this with my daughters puppy and in about 2-3 weeks she didn't care about garbage trucks or concrete workers at all.

·
Registered
66 Posts
A puppy should not be very nervous over anything at that age. If anything, they should want to conquer the world.