German Shepherds Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
First I would like to say hello, as I am new to the gsd forum!

I am looking for some advice/input regarding my gsd puppy's behavior. She is 4 months old, purebred, came from Pendragon Acres in Weeki Watchee, FL.
When she was first brought home (at 9 weeks old) she was very quiet, well behaved, etc. In fact she did not even cry or have any accidents for the first several days. With each passing day, however, her behavior has become more and more peculiar to me. She seems to be very skiddish and fearful when meeting new people. For instance, instead of walking up to a stranger with confidence and sniffing/licking them if they appear to be okay, she will run away in fear as soon as they extend their hand or get close to her. Also, my uncle is at the house 4-5 days out of the week, and from day 1 she did not like him. She would bark and growl at him every time she caught sight of him, and still does it to this day. Granted, he has never listened when told to just ignore her, and continuously tries to approach her when she is barking and growling at him. In fact, the other day when she was doing this he advanced towards her quickly and she bit him hard enough to draw blood. I am concerned about this and do not want her to ever bite anyone. At the same time, I feel compelled to defend my puppy as I know he frightens her when he does things like that--especially seeing she does not like him for some reason to begin with. Bottom line, I am not sure how to move forward with correcting this. She receives alot of training at home, and is starting to listen well, though I am sure seeing a professional trainer would still be a good idea.
Nevertheless, I am concerned about her skiddish/fearful behavior and would like to know your opinions on whether this is normal puppy behavior or not, and also any advice on what to do about it would be appreciated.

Thank you!

·
Registered
5,126 Posts