German Shepherds Forum banner

1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
313 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Our new dog, Beau, and I started training classes this morning at the rescue facility where we got him a couple months ago. What a difference to be in a class around other GSD's (and their owners) who aren't immediately intimidated by the temperaments of these big (and often newly aquired) rescues.

One of the things I learned was that (for some dogs) the pinch collar is a better option than the less-threatening looking choke chain because the pinch offers immediate correction, where as the choke sometimes can take correction after correction after correction to get the dogs attention...and each correction can damage the dog's throat.

I've heard some call the prong/pinch collar the "power steering" of the training collars - it offers the same result as the choke chain, but doesn't take nearly the forces to make it work.

Just curious what you use on your dogs? What's your preference? Was there an age at which you said, "OK...we're ready for the pinch"? Or, if you used the pinch and then transitioned to the choke, how did that go?

·
Registered
866 Posts
I strongly prefer the pinch. It was used to redirect Samson and keep him more grounded after dealing with some fear issues. For the most part I kept the leash hooked on both rings - no sliding, just pressure. Worked wonders for him. He is not 100% perfect yet but being so isolated it is very difficult to get in consistent training. I do it where I can though.

The choke I feel takes a lot more force to use, carries far more risk of damage, and in a long-haired dog it backfires anyway because it tends to get caught in the hair and I really don't want him to associate anything with the pain of fur getting ripped out =/.

I would probably never use a choke after the experience I've had with a prong.

·
Registered
27,245 Posts
I would never use a choke collar. I do use a fursaver, but that is on a dead ring.