German Shepherds Forum banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
We just got Rose, 5 months old, on Saturday and she is doing well with our yorkies, however, she wants to kill my cat. We have so far tried the following: keeping her in a sit position like a time out, sitting with the cat and having the kids love on her and when Rose ignores her, she gets a treat. The puppy and the cat are very stressed out and none of us are sleeping because we are heartbroken at what is going on. Currently we have moved all the cats stuff upstairs but he is used to having his run of the house and can no longer come down to take care of my 2 yr old yorkie who he considers to be his baby. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.:(

·
Registered
6,073 Posts
Welcome:) I have no experience with cats, never owned one but can understand wanting peace in the household.

There have been some good advice from members on this very topic. I'm sure they will be along:)

·
Registered
3,334 Posts
Depending on how much patience you have, it could take a very long time. I dont think you should have moved the cat upstairs. New dog should be in a crate. It took me almost 6 months to get my 8yr old female Shiloh to accept our new kitty and she's been around cats since she was 14wks old. I can tell you she definately showed agression are you sure this pup is showing agression?

·
Registered
30,382 Posts
Well, it's only been 3 days. It takes longer than that to train a dog. Just keep working on it.

Exactly WHAT is the puppy doing? Just barking? Trying to chase? Or in a tensed body stance and staring the cat down?

1) Keep your puppy on a leash and do not let her have an opportunity to chase the cat and reinforce her behavior.
2) Work on teaching your puppy Leave It. Leave it means just that...it means don't look, don't touch, leave it.
3) Work on having the puppy react gently to the cat. Nice is the command I used.

·
Registered
3,266 Posts