German Shepherds Forum banner

1 - 20 of 32 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
hello everyone new to the group and to the breed we've decided to get a gsd most of the dogs I have met are extremely smart and loyal so with two babies I think it was time to add one of these beautiful puppies into our home. we plan on doing advanced personal protection we have found a litter but since I am new to the breed I dont really know if the pedigree is "worthy" or "respectable" any help would be greatly appreciated we have narrowed it down to these two puppies from the same litter both males

pedigreedatabase.com/german_shepherd_dog/breeding.planned?litter=9678&fbclid=IwAR2rLRZ0Zifuves54pVKrEZqcDC0H4ssC7IYRZThB4QN9XyH_QzCb5sEKNI

Attachments

·
Registered
4,052 Posts
Hi, and welcome to the forum!

I'm certainly no pedigree expert, by any stretch. But if you really want an "advanced personal protection" dog, I think you'd want to see some indication of that type of ability in the puppy's recent lineage. Most of these puppies' ancestors are untitled in anything.

Of course, as a first time owner, make sure you KNOW what you're signing up for! Your average GSD is a pretty good deterrent, without any PP training!

But a trained PP dog, like LE dogs, need ongoing training. And it will probably require special insurance, depending on where you're located.

Go out and find a breeder who has actually produced dogs that have been trained in personal protection, and been successful. Your chances with the litter you posted, IMHO, are not so good...

·
Registered
1,022 Posts
Can you make the link live? Any idea who you will use to do PP training? I ask because you sound very green and you need the right dog and a very good trainer, which is not such an easy task.

·
Registered
1,834 Posts