German Shepherds Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
My beloved shepherd Ooma is only 11 months old... And I have noticed a big fatty lump with approx. A 2-inch diameter. I will check this out immediately at the vet but I'm hoping to receive some information and advice on these fatty lumps. Has anyone had a similar experience? I'm worried sick about her well being. And the worst part is is I'm a student and can't afford to pay for cancer treatment. My god.

·
Registered
8,277 Posts
Please try not to worry. It could be any number of things. Many of them completely harmless. Get her to the vet if you are concerned and have it looked at.
Where is it located? Is it hard or soft? Can you move it around? These are all potential indicators of what it might be but really the only way to know is to see a vet.

·
Super Moderator
5,366 Posts
Yes, try to relax. My big-boy had a lump on his back leg so I understand the concern. The dog removed the lump and had it tested and it was safe. The hardest part was making sure he didn't pull the stitches out by being to active while he healed afterwards.

Let us know how it goes.

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Will do guys thanks! Also it is moveable as if it's some kind of oval bubble with air and puss inside. I have also been using a generous amount of cheddar for training treats as these drive her to obey every command could my choice of treats be the cause of this?

·
Registered
547 Posts
Will do guys thanks! Also it is moveable as if it's some kind of oval bubble with air and puss inside. I have also been using a generous amount of cheddar for training treats as these drive her to obey every command could my choice of treats be the cause of this?
Actual fatty foods don't cause it. Fatty lumps/cysts are a genetic anomaly in dogs that happen from time to time. Worry not. It sounds like a cyst. If it's squishy and moves, it's probably just a cyst. Tumors are hard like marbles.