German Shepherds Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So I recently got a purebred male German Shepherd puppy at 7 weeks old. He is now 13 weeks old. It's my first time owning a dog, much less a GSD. Sometimes, I get so overwhelmed. It seems like my pup, Taz, just doesn't care to listen. He's so stubborn. He knows "Go to sleep" and "Sit", but he selectively does it. He'll only do what I ask when he wants to. I enrolled him in an AKC STAR 8-week puppy class, and the first class was yesterday. He was doing good at the class, but at home, he will only listen if I have a treat or if he is extremely tired.
Another HUGE problem is that he LOVES biting. I know he is teething and it's all playful, but it's at the point where it hurts. My daughters and I have scratches all over our arms from his teeth scraping our arms. I have tried literally everything I can I've found online, from friends, from trainers... He bites both when he wants to play, and also a bit out of aggression. For example, he loves to bite feet. However, when we want to put him in his crate or put on his leash (sometimes even just pet him!), he turns his head and latches his entire mouth on our arm. It does scare us all at times. When we go out with him to stores, everyone gathers around him and loves to pet him and let him kiss them. He never bites strangers, only licks them. I'd much rather him bite us than strangers, but I don't want either to be honest. I've tried yelping when he bites, replacing my arm with a toy, having frozen rags for him to chew on, a dozen chew toys, Bitter Yuck, giving him "time-outs". When he's in his very hyper mood, it's very hard to get him to relax and calm down. I love him with all my heart, and wish these behaviors would stop. Please help me, because it's getting to be a painful and scary experience. Thanks for reading.

·
Registered
31,877 Posts
Could you tell us a little more about you and your puppy?