German Shepherds Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
2,354 Posts
I'm an amateur so take it for what that is worth.
Your dog seems more focused on the object than you. Is that what you are wanting from your dog?

·
Banned
1,283 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
amateur here as well, not exactly sure what i want just flying blind in the back yard but i think my idea is to build focus with the toy then fade it away at some point in the future and the dog by then has imprinted the motion and keeps doing it - or not.

thanks for comment.

·
Premium Member
7,904 Posts
Did you start the work with food? Or just toy?

He has very nice attention, but is a but over stimulated on the toy. Hence the jumping and barking.

If you want to only use the toy, make sure to reward when " four are on the floor" I don't know how advanced he is, but in the beginning, the reward should come frequently. I saw a couple if places that toy should have dropped right into his mouth, when he was focused and heeling correctly. If you don't reward exactly what you want, when you want it, he will build frustration and start the talking and leaping.

Food may be easier to teach focus without the excitedness the toy brings.

All in all. Nice dog!! Handsome and animated!! Looks like you were having a good time together!!!

Sent from Petguide.com Free App

·
Banned
1,283 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
thanks, i will try reward correct position more frequently. i am actually wondering about his mental state with the toy, if you could see his eyes from my position, he actually looks demon possessed in the eyes for his toy. i did an experiment and he will actually sleep with the toy in his mouth and make get kinda funny with it.

my decoy wants to quit bite-work with him and train him as a narc dog and sell him for big bucks and take a cut - never happen but i would like to do the narc training just for fun.

·
Premium Member
7,904 Posts