German Shepherds Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Towards the end of May or early June, I will be getting a female GSD puppy. I'll be flying with her and I'm a but concerned that she might not fit in a pet carrier. The flight's allowed maximum dimensions are 17x11x9.5 but I know with soft sided carriers, they can squish down a bit.

But would an 8 week old fit in a carrier with those dimensions?

·
Registered
1,829 Posts
I have no experience transporting a puppy. That said I happen to have a suitcase that exact size. It's very small. It is designed to fit under the seat in front of you which is the only approved place for any carry on personal item during a flight (not your carry on bag in the overhead bin). At only 9.5 inches high the pup would have to be a smaller pup and would definitely have to stay lying down the entire trip to fit in that height space. Hopefully you will here from others on this but I don't think it's comfortably doable for the pup unless it's a short flight.
Also keep in mind the airline industry is making big rule changes regarding pets in the cabin so it may not even be an option by the time your trip is planned.

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Oh okay. That's good to know! Thank you! And it would be a short flight, like 30-45 minutes. I'll start coming up with a backup plan if flying won't work, but I can also talk more with my breeder to see if people in the past have flown comfortably with their pups.

I know that the height of the carrier can be a tiny bit taller (probably 1.5in), if it's a soft sided carrier.

Thank you for the response!

·
Registered
48 Posts
Towards the end of May or early June, I will be getting a female GSD puppy. I'll be flying with her and I'm a but concerned that she might not fit in a pet carrier. The flight's allowed maximum dimensions are 17x11x9.5 but I know with soft sided carriers, they can squish down a bit.