German Shepherds Forum banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi All,

I have a 4-month-old GSD puppy. A week ago we started walking outside (after 3 rounds of the vaccination). I usually walk him for 1 hour and everything is good. Yesterday when we came back home I found that his paw pads are bleeding... He was pulling during that walk, can it be caused by that? I also noticed that his paws may be standing not right... Please see the photos. Does anybody know what can cause it? I was reading yesterday that it can also be hip dysplasia, but according to what I know none of his parents or their parents had it. Please advise... :crying::crying::crying:

Attachments

·
Super Moderator
6,359 Posts
Keep him off of the pavement.That's how his paws are getting scraped up.I'm no conformation expert,but he is cowhocked which will likely improve and straighten out somewhat over time.It may be the angle of the middle picture,but he appears to have poor muscle tone in his back end.Others with more experience will chime in,but what I would do is spend most of his exercise periods on grass and off leash if possible.If you can find a low hilly spot for him to wander up and down AT HIS OWN PACE that's good for building muscle in his back end.Clean his paws with Epsom Salt in warm water and pat dry when you get home.

·
Registered
5,420 Posts
An hour is much too long at his age. I keep young dogs under a mile of planned walking. Off leash exercise where he can set his own pace is much better.

·
Registered
2,308 Posts
Yes, definitely quite severely cow hocked. That might explain why the raw spot is on one side of the pad only.