German Shepherds Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
6,117 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi,

Total newbie here. I've had German shepherds for years, but have never shown in AKC conformation as I've always had German-bred working lines.

The other day my pup free-stacked in front of me while I had my camera (which was shocking), so I posted the photo. A couple of GSD enthusiasts told me she has good conformation and could be shown in the AKC ring. Honestly, it never even occurred to me to show a working dog, but tell me what you think. It wasn't even on my radar to show her in conformation, I'd planned on doing AKC obedience with her. She is pictured here at 4.5 months old.

I tried to get a photo of her in motion, but this was the best I could do:

·
Registered
1,644 Posts
Nice, balanced pup . . . ever thought of trying an SV style show?

·
Registered
6,117 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Nice, balanced pup . . . ever thought of trying an SV style show?
I thought of that too, but there are a lot more AKC shows than SV shows and to be honest, I was just curious to see if a working dog could show in AKC. I know most people don't show their working dogs, but maybe they should?

·
Super Moderator
21,368 Posts
I say go for it:) It's a great learning experience for both you and the dog..Find a place to take handling classes:)

I used to show my ddr/american lined male, did well, I got bored with it, and stopped when he was around 2.5 But I LOVED the learning aspect all the ins and outs:)

·
Registered
6,690 Posts
I'm going to give it a try (AKC that is) I'm taking confirmation classes from my local club and Singe is getting a lot of compliments, so we'll see how it goes.
Good luck if you do decide to go for it!

·
Registered
27,206 Posts