German Shepherds Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
4,119 Posts
How about the positive's? I am strongly concidering a pup out of this breeding.
I like Tom. I like Orry. I like Hutch. Those are the dogs in the pedigree I like outside of the "usual/"

But I'm sorry I have no real knowledge on how these would all combine with each other.

·
Premium Member
16,941 Posts
Good breeding for sport dogs like Sch.
Interesting Cliff! Would this pedigree not produce the balance needed for real-life working dogs? I recognize a lot of dog names that are often seen as accomplished dogs - are they, in your view, then the extreme prey driven dogs that high-level competitors prefer?

This stuff is just always so interesting (and often overwhelming!).

·
Registered
5,452 Posts
The litter would be linebred 4-5 on Aly Vordinsteinwald, one of the most prolific producers of high level sport dogs, and the mother is 2-3 on Tom v Leedalhof, maybe the most popular high sport prodcer today. I "think" this breeding might have high potential for good sport dogs as the sport is today. That doesn't mean their won't be pups in the litter with less drive or even insane drive, just that as sport has evolved today, this breeding is steeped in those genetics.

·
Registered
5,452 Posts
Also, Lucia their is a lot of other intangibles in this breeding that will affect outcome(genetically speaking), but thistype of detail isn't always welcomed I so I kept it very general.

·
Administrator & Alpha Bitch of the Wild Bunch
13,571 Posts
I see a pedigree slanted toward very high energy, high drive, low trigger thresholds for drive, and the potential for drive overloading the brain/nerves, some nervous/hectic energy and what I describe as dogs who are constantly "buzzing" and have difficulty achieving a state of mental calmness. Very much a pedigree geared toward modern sport.

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #10