German Shepherds Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
151 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm somewhat new to the dog world, so please excuse my seemingly silly questions.

It appears as though this one dog absolutely loathes my dog, but is fine with other dogs. I've met this dog twice now, and both times he (gender unknown) became absolutely vicious towards Taedyn - baring teeth, snarling, growling, barking, muzzle completely wrinkled from nose to eyes. The works. This dog wants to tear Taedyn to pieces.

The second time I met the dog, I didn't recognize him. He was socializing nicely with other dogs, and I passed by with Taedyn on leash. He quickly approached her, snarling and barking once again!

How is it this dog can be socializing nicely with other dogs, while having a total aversion towards my dog?

The first time we met, he noticed us from quite a distance and immediately approached. I had Taedyn sit and stay while he approached for a greet. However, instead of greeting he stopped about 8' from us and started snarling, and then ran towards us fully meaning to fight.

I'm baffled as to why a dog would take offense to a sitting dog. Could Taedyn be giving off bad signals? She is tense around new dogs.

For my solution, I'm going to avoid all medium sized tan and white dogs from now on! The question I'm asking you guys is the dog psychology that will cause this sort of instant aggression to specific dogs.

·
Registered
12,829 Posts
S/he may have had a bad encounter with another dog who looks like yours. Morgan was attacked as a puppy by a certain breed now she holds any dog that looks like that suspect.

·
Registered
1,187 Posts
Originally Posted By: SunCzarinaS/he may have had a bad encounter with another dog who looks like yours. Morgan was attacked as a puppy by a certain breed now she holds any dog that looks like that suspect.
and/or your dog looked at the other one the wrong way. That's all it may take to trigger a reactive dog.

·
Registered