German Shepherds Forum banner

1 - 20 of 37 Posts

·
Registered
32,023 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have a kennel license. So I got a letter about the new law, from the Department of Agriculture. I knew about it, the new law. But now they want me to fill out a survey.

At this point it is for high volume breeders and I am not affected by it, until they change the numbers. But at this point it is whelping 9 litters and selling 60 puppies or adult dogs.

Anyhow, it looks like they are sending letters, requiring surveys from everyone with a kennel license in Ohio. It is funny how we voluntarily declare our business to the government, and no one says boo about it.

And I wonder what things people will do to stay below the magic 60 number, euthanize puppies over 59, or maybe sell some with papers and sell to those who do not care about papers under the table so to speak. Or give them away with the purchase of the great $1500 crate.

·
Registered
87 Posts
As an OH resident I'm very disappointed to hear this. As much as I resent people breeding to make a quick buck, I feel it is the individual's, and not the gov'ts, place to prevent it.

Sent from Petguide.com Free App

·
Registered
1,895 Posts
Are they trying to control puppy mills? The Amish?

The magic number is scary, as you point out.

Legislators are notorious for poor legal drafting. Uninformed :(

·
Registered
371 Posts
As an OH resident I'm very disappointed to hear this. As much as I resent people breeding to make a quick buck, I feel it is the individual's, and not the gov'ts, place to prevent it.

I agree to a point. I feel however something has to be done to controL the mass production of puppys in this state/country. Especially with our beloved breed!!!

·
Registered
16,649 Posts
I think it's great that they are trying to take action to regulate millers. 60 puppies a year is a lot. If an average litter is 7 or 9 pups, that is about 7 litters. That's a lot of litters.