German Shepherds Forum banner

1 - 20 of 45 Posts

·
Registered
23 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I was wondering if anyone here knows about OFA hips, I had Xrays done on Sam today and had them give me a copy of the Xray and I dont know how to read them or what they show. The vet said that the results should be back in about 2 weeks but I'd like to see what others think,. this is the first time I've had this done and I'm not good at comparing them to the ones on the OFA site. HELP! :help:

·
Registered
6,912 Posts
The balls look like they're starting to deform and they don't look too snug in the sockets either. I'd guess mild HD... maybe fair at best.

·
Registered
23 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
The balls look like they're starting to deform and they don't look too snug in the sockets either. I'd guess mild HD... maybe fair at best.
Oh god I was hoping for at least a Fair, both her parents have Good hips, and we were really careful about what she gets fed and not ever over-exercised, etc.... it would be terrible if she didn't pass. :cry:

·
Registered
6,912 Posts
What did your vet think of the x-rays?

The hips really don't look terrible. He might never even show symptoms. I'd be proactive with glucosamine and supplementing starting now though.

·
Registered
23 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
What did your vet think of the x-rays?

The hips really don't look terrible. He might never even show symptoms. I'd be proactive with glucosamine and supplementing starting now though.
the vet today said her elbows looked excellent but the hips she couldn't really tell she thought maybe Fair but said that the people at OFA would be a much better judge on the hips. I'll order some glucosamine right now.

·
Registered
6,912 Posts
the vet today said her elbows looked excellent but the hips she couldn't really tell she thought maybe Fair but said that the people at OFA would be a much better judge on the hips. I'll order some glucosamine right now.