German Shepherds Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi

I am new to German Shepherds and we have just rescued one from the pound. He is around 4 months old we think! We just wanted to know if he looks like he is mixed with any other breed. Also how old do you think he may be? He just lost another puppy tooth the other day. I think he has lost most of them now. He is still squatting to pee. And he does seem to show some "interest" in our female dog, but usually just a half-hearted attempt.

Thanks

·
Registered
4,473 Posts
he looks like a purebred long haired GSD to me. If he has lost most of his baby teeth already than I would think he would be more like 5.5-6 months old.
He is adorable!!

BTW,
to the board.

·
Registered
6 Posts
I'm not expert enough on the breed to have an opinion on P/B or mix, but he sure is cute. Also the tennis shoes in the picture are in one piece so I guess he is well behaved too!

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
so far, he has only eaten one flip-flop! :) he is also surprisingly docile, for the most part. he whines when the cats hiss at him! that's another reason we thought he might be mixed with a breed that is a little more temperate than the GS... thx 4 the quick replies!

·
Registered
4,473 Posts
some gsd's do not like cats. others will chase and chase. the ones that chase have a higher prey drive. By the sounds of it your guy has a low prey drive but that can change over time will. Can't wait to see more pics of him!!! What is his name?

·
Super Moderator
32,283 Posts
Yep, looks like a fuzzy.
I have two longcoats myself, and recognize the extra hair around the ears.

·
Registered
3,427 Posts
I would think that he is about 5-5.5 months old, based on him loosing his puppy teeth.