German Shepherds Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello everyone. I’m new to IPO training, and have a 12 month old German Shepherd. His line has some working titles in it, and I thought it would be good to get him started in it. He’s very obedient, but has a high drive to play outside so I have a hard time getting his attention to heel. But other than that he is pretty good with obedience training.

I have never had him trained by a professional, nor have I joined a club. Partly because I’m from southern Illinois and there doesn’t seem to be too many clubs around. But I want to join a Schutzhund or GSD club to get him started.

Just thought I’d post here to get some information from you guys! Is he too old? Are there clubs near my area? Any recommendations on what to do?

Thanks!

·
Registered
31,485 Posts
No, he is not to old. Look on germanshepherddog.com for a list of USCA clubs. You can look for DVG clubs too.I'm

·
Super Moderator
4,814 Posts
Not too old. If he has the drives and you have the time, I'd say go for it. Even if all you earn is the BH you've learned a lot about your dog. If you two enjoy it you can keep busy with it for a long time. When you do find a club make sure it is one you enjoy hanging out at because you'll be spending a great deal of time there.

·
Registered
34 Posts
If I have a dog who doesn't have the temperament for protection work, is it acceptable or make sense to pursue BH? Like the original poster here, I am a complete newbie, but very interested in doing more with our dog.

·
Registered
3,254 Posts
If I have a dog who doesn't have the temperament for protection work, is it acceptable or make sense to pursue BH? Like the original poster here, I am a complete newbie, but very interested in doing more with our dog.

Then Weston would be a great choice for you.