German Shepherds Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello,
I'm new to owning a German Shepherd but not to owning dogs. I would like to get a new puppy and I was wondering what things I need to look for. I have been briefly browsing the classifieds and sites for high end breeders. What I have encountered is that there are some puppies that go for 2-3K and some in the local classifieds that don't even hit the 500 buck mark. I understand that the high end puppies are meant for competition and breeding so that the price probably isn't a good investment. These puppies however come with health guarantees and and an assured pedigree of healthy lineage. What about the puppies in the local classifieds? Do such puppies suffer from inbreeding and health problems that the high end ones don't have? I intend this puppy to be an alarm system and a family companion, I would feel much safer with a big German Shepherd in the house with my girlfriend when she's alone. Any help would be appreciated. Also, it would be great if anyone has any recommendations for a breeder in California (central-southern California would be best) that breeds healthy puppies without the competition lineage premium.

thanks,
Sam

·
Registered
60 Posts
I am probably the exception to the Rule but I got a wonderful pup from a Classified section. You are doing the right thing by coming here first and asking questions as I did not find this place until after I bought. Research Research Research before you buy. Try to find out about the Pedigree of the dogs and ask a lot of questions. I was totally lost when I bought my pup and I ended up getting very lucky when I got my AKC papers that went 3 generations back as my pup ended up having very nice lines Kirschental and other very nice lines in her pedigree. Most are not that lucky and some end up the exact opposite. There are very sharp people here who can steer you in the right direction. Good luck in finding a good pup.