German Shepherds Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi,
I am new to this so would appreciate the help! I adopted a male German shepherd puppy from a shelter last week he is about 9 or 10 weeks old! We already have a female (Lucy) that is about 5 years old and previously had a GSD cross (zara) for about 12 years so we have experience with the breed but never with a pup this young. Both dogs always slept outside and there was never a problem, they had good size kennels and a good size garden so it was never a problem. We have kept the new pup inside at night for the past week but last night we tried to put him outside in his kennel but he just cried all night, he is afraid of the dark and Lucy keeps her distance at night from him and wont sleep in her kennel because it is so close to the pups. I tried to put him outside tonight but I ended up having to bring him in and sleep in my room! He scratches the door and cries if we leave him in the kitchen! Would anyone have advise on how to approach this? And I would appreciate no BS comments about how leaving a dog outside is cruel, Its Ireland 95% of dogs sleep outside. Thanks in advance!! :D

Attachments

·
Registered
525 Posts
Let him whine. He will get over it in a couple nights. By bringing him back in you are teaching him if he makes enough noise he will get what he wants.

Sent from Petguide.com Free App

·
Registered
16,649 Posts
Let him sleep inside until he is older and more secure! He is just a baby puppy after all. You are on a forum dominated by people from North America, btw, so don't expect a lot of empathy on the sleep outside thing. What's the big deal about having him sleep inside, anyway?

·
Registered
308 Posts