German Shepherds Forum banner

1 - 20 of 69 Posts

·
Registered
108 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Looking for some help. Found the perfect puppy that will be available in 2weeks. (puppy will be 10 weeks). However I'm 9 weeks away from delivering a baby. Is it a good idea to get this puppy now or should we wait? I just don't have any idea. I think the husband and I can make it work, but I just don't know if it's a good idea or not. Will a 4 month old puppy be OK around a newborn? Naturally I will keep a close eye on both. It's very important to me to raise this baby with a GSD in his or her life. Suggestions?

·
Registered
104 Posts
I'm not an expert, but I can only imagine the HUGE responsibilty it's going to take to raise a baby AND a puppy. You will definitely have your hands full. I would suggest to wait, but that's just my opinion.

Congrats on the baby!!!

·
Registered
3,742 Posts
If you do not have experience raising a puppy, especially a GSD puppy I would wait. They require a lot of work. One thing GSD puppies are known for is being little land sharks. Those teeth hurt and are sharp. It can last until they are done teething at 5-6 months of age. Keep in touch with the breeder and follow this pup as it grows. If the breeder repeats that breeding you'll have a good idea of the type of puppy you'll have.

Plus if you wait you can enjoy your newborn and then when ready for a puppy you will have time to enjoy the puppy and its antics :)

·
Registered
108 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
We've raised a GSD puppy before... 10 years ago though. I just can't remember what it's like (I just remember it really sucking... lol)

·
Registered
3,467 Posts
I admire your ambition but...you have to sleep sometime! With a puppy and a newborn, I'm not sure when that would be.

·
Registered
9 Posts
When our son was born our gsd was 1 and it worked out ok.But I would not want a pup and a newborn at the same time.Wait awile then they can grow up together.Just my 2cents.

·
Registered