German Shepherds Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
22 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi, my name is Jason and I have been cruising these forums for about 6 months or so before joining and now posting. I am finally heading out to see a breeder this weekend and take a look at his dogs that he will be breeding in the spring, and with any luck I will be able to purchase one. I will be a senior in college next year and if I am able to live in a house I would love to have a GSD more than anything. Taking the dog for long walks or runs in the morning is something I can do without any problems and same with more exercise either mid day or sometime at night.

First thing is a GSD right for me at this age and in that environment? Also would a long run in the morning and more playing/exercising at night be enough?

Second is there any major questions to ask the breeder when I head to his place this weekend? I have already discussed hip and elbow dysplasia. I'll be seeing at least one of the parents this weekend, I believe the mother. What are some other major points of interest I should bring up this weekend.

Thanks for all of your help in advance guys

·
Registered
12,829 Posts
I think an older dog (2ish) from a rescue would be a better fit for someone starting a new job in his first new place. Puppies are sooo much work.

That said, there's a lot of resorces online for breeder questions.

? why do you breed
? what do your dogs have to offer the gene pool
? what titles do the dogs have?
? are the working line or show line?
? what do you do to socialize the puppies before they come home

·
Registered
22 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I am not starting a new job just for clarification. I am a student that will be living with two or three other guys. I will have about three or four classes per term at school and will be able to devote most of my time to a dog. Is a rescue dog still the best option or maybe an older dog from a breeder?

·
Super Moderator
7,228 Posts