German Shepherds Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey everyone! I’m new to this fourm and GSD’s!
I just picked up my brand new baby GSD mix yesterday. I got him from a local shelter, who did all vaccinatons, deworming etc for free! I’m not sure what hes mixed with, because all they told me that he was German Shepherd Mix. Hes super curious and a little ADHD haha! Anyway, his name is Mateo and hes amazing, but I do have a few questions:

I bought kirkland brand wet/dry food, which has no corn, dyes etc. I’m feeding him about 1 & 1/3 cup dry, and about 4.5oz wet: twice a day. Is this too much/too often?

I hear all this talk about pointy ears, is it a health concern or purely cosmetic? Because his ears are floppy.

Lastly, he seems to do a lot of play biting/teething. Is this normal?

Thanks everyone!

pic included aswell

Attachments

·
Registered
316 Posts
Mixed dogs are a toss up when it comes to the ears. It's 100% cosmetic. They'll likely hear better with standing ears, and it's more difficult for someone/another dog to latch on to the dogs ears if they're standing(hence ear cropping for some game breeds), but it doesn't pose any health concerns for your dog. Depending on the age, teething is very normal. Get him plenty of toys and ropes to teeth on. Younger dogs teeth to deal with teeth coming in/falling out. It can be painful. As for the feeding, I can't really gauge his size/weight, but the amount of food seems fine if he's still growing. I personally was giving my shepherd 4 cups of high protein victor sled dog food once a day from the day I got him at 4 months old, until he was about a year. He was underweight so that amount seemed good for him. If your dog isn't under/overweight and isn't excessively active, that amount seems fine.

·
Registered
1,030 Posts
Your little guy is very cute!