German Shepherds Forum banner

1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
Registered
2,927 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Im really scared to leave my dog at the vet on monday.
I know this isnt a question, but I cried today because of it.
I see his face when I leave for second to start my car & its heartbreaking.
Will he think Im leaving him forever????
Can I ask them to sedate him while Im standing there??
Sorry.

·
Registered
2,079 Posts
Why is he going in?
A hint....
Most of the support staff isn't there for the money!

I'm a certified tech and believe me, the pay sucks.
Why do I stay?
I love what I do.
I would love your dog. He would be nervous but find a friend to attach to. He would wonder where you were, and then he would get a sedative, get nice and sleepy, feel peaceful, and before he knew what was happening, you'd be there to pick him up!

On that note...... The longest separation I have ever expirenced with a dog was Sika, who walked into my house 2 years later and picked up her life the same night, like no time had gone by!

·
Registered
2,151 Posts
Why would he need to be sedated?

I do understand how you feel. I left my 12 year old dog at the vet's office for two full days (very foreign to me) and I cried for most of those two days. She was elated to see me and when I took her back for a checkup, she had to be practically dragged back there; I know she thought I was leaving her again. One thing I had to keep telling myself is that I was doing it out of love and she had to have surgery. She knows that I was only helping her. Before her surgery she had become lame (her back leg) and now she can run, jump, and play again. I would do it again.

·
Registered
2,927 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
He has an enlarged salivary gland.
They had him on anti botics for 2 weeks & it went down.
But now its starting to swell up.
So they have to get some bloodwork done.
They MIGHT have to sedate him.
Im just nervous.
I hope he doesnt have to go through surgery!

·
Registered
2,927 Posts