German Shepherds Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
32 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've been working with "Jasmine" for 3 months now on basic commands. Sit, Down, Stay, Off, etc... She is perfect with Sit & Down, but when you tell her "Stay" she jumps up instead of staying, and I just can't seem to get her to understand "Off" when she jumps up on people. She is a week shy of 8 months old, and am wondering if she is just in some transition between puppy and adolescent? Or if someone has any ideas to help me get her to understand what I'm trying to teach. I get frustrated, and just don't know what to do. Help please, any info would be appreciated.
She's a great GS, I love her to pieces, and just want her to be well trained.
Thanks in advance!:D

·
Registered
1,182 Posts
Sent from Petguide.com Free App

With stay, you neer to get her in a sit or down. Then hold up one finger, tell her stay once and slowly step back. The minute her butt comes up step back to her and put her back into a sit and do it again. You may only be able to do maybe half steps back before she gets it. She will get it. Just keep working with her. When she does stay, walk back to her and treat and click. You want her to remain in stay until released. You need a release word for this you commonly dont use everyday.

As far as the off command. If she jumps up, you need to tell her off and turn your back to her. You may even have to walk off for a second then come back and greet her again. If she keeps four on the floor, treat and click. Jumps, command off and turn again. Thats the best I can tell you for an off command. If you come in a door and she jumps, command off, turn go back out the door for a second or two and then try comming in again. Repeat if necessary. Always treat and click when she does it right.

·
Registered
12,379 Posts
With some dogs, it's easier to teach them 'On' first, then teach 'Off'.