German Shepherds Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello! This is my first time posting in the forums, I am from Indonesia where getting help for dog training and general questions about it is very difficult, many people here hate dogs and are generally afraid of larger breeds. I am having difficulties trying to figure out what is the best method to train my dog. He is a very curious dog that likes to smell everything and he is nearing 2 years now and has been having general problems with obedience and focusing since a very young age.

I am very aware that I am possibly not training him in the best way, he has very low interest to food in general and in my attempt to get "high value" treats, it always results in him either not interested in it, or having allergic reactions to different treats (beef,pork,etc, its very hard to pinpoint which is the treat that he is actually okay with..)

He's also veryyy reactive to cats and other dogs, I also have to mention we have over 2 million stray cats here due to people not neutering their cats so there is like 5-6 stray cats wherever I go.

BUT when I catch him in the occasional good mood, I am able to get him to do so much. I guess my question is what would be the best approach to training him when he is not reacting to food and other praises? I take him out for many walks but his energy never seems to run out and I am running out of ideas :( I tried squeaky toys, ones that he could chew on, but he gets bored of toys very easily too. I am worried if I am pampering him too much and he doesn't seem to respect me?

Any suggestions on where to start would be very appreciated! I'm just so overwhelmed and I don't know where to begin... Thanks in advance for anyone who has any inputs!

·
Registered
11,405 Posts
I don't know where to start either so I am pointing you to the Leerburg.com videos and studying the threads on various subject on this forum.

·
Registered
1,027 Posts