German Shepherds Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
74 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey all!

I'm in the process of buying my second German Shepherd (first working line), and would love to train and compete in PSA with this dog.

I'm new to the sport, so I've been trying to do as much research as possible. I'm located in central Iowa, and as far as I know, there aren't any PSA clubs close by. I'm definitely not opposed to making a drive if necessary for training, but wanted to try to get a feel for what's out there.

Any club knowledge/recommendations, as well as advice for a newbie are much appreciated.

Thanks in advance!

·
Registered
5,126 Posts

·
Registered
74 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
The PSA association only lists these clubs in the midwest which are quite a drive from you:

Find A PSA Club | PSA K9 Region

But is you were to consider an IPO club instead the situation looks better:

This article explains how to find a club in your area and how to evaluate the club:

SCHUTZHUND LIFE

This link from the working dog forum discusses IPO clubs in Iowa:

Any trainers or clubs in Iowa? - Working Dog Forum
Thanks for the info! I've looked at the PSA club list as well, but unfortunately the closest club is 5 hours away. I'm not opposed to doing IPO- just had my heart set on PSA, and not sure if any IPO helpers or club members would be able to help train in a suit.

·
Registered
5,126 Posts
Thanks for the info! I've looked at the PSA club list as well, but unfortunately the closest club is 5 hours away. I'm not opposed to doing IPO- just had my heart set on PSA, and not sure if any IPO helpers or club members would be able to help train in a suit.
I sympathize and I know what it is like to be far from everything and have to compromise, but sometimes works out for the best. I would suggest asking them and also offering to help with something in return like when they do nosework you could be the one hiding in the blind or help setup and do cleanup.

·