German Shepherds Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am not a new GSD owner, but I am a novice at picking out a breeder for a puppy. I foster for GSDRI and have a 2 yo female GSD. She has her CGCA and we have just started Obedience and Rally competition. She is the love if my life and is a wonderful dog, but she only works because I expect it. She has made me realize how important good genetics are. I would love to have a dog, that I can start training as a puppy, and will enjoy working with me for AKC trials, dog sports (dock diving, barn hunt, etc.) and to train in bitework...maybe the IPO world. I want to research, visit breeders and do this correctly so I am a year or more out from picking up a puppy. I desire a black & red, plush male that has a clear head, decent drive and has a good off-switch for family life. Looking in the price range of $1500-2000. I have been told to look at both West German Working Line and Showline. Any recommendations for quality breeders in (or around) Iowa are appreciated, as well as, feedback regarding working line or showline are appreciated.

·
Registered
2,581 Posts