German Shepherds Forum banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey everyone! I am new to this sight but it seems like there is a lot of good advice here. My wife and I are planning on adopting/purchasing a GSD puppy around the fist of the year and I was wondering if any of you had suggestions on breeders. We are looking for a dog to be first and foremost a family companion. My wife and I have both had multiple dogs in the past including GSDs and GSD mixes. Ideally we would like to find a pup who would be ready to come home between December and February within three or four hours of Memphis TN. Our budget will be $1000 or less and our primary goal is a healthy puppy with a good temperament. We don't need a show dog or a top notch guard dog and will have whatever dog we get fixed.like I said, healthy is the goal!

I am hoping you guys can point me in the direction of ethical breeders and individuals for us to start our search with. Everyone says they care about their dogs online but I want to know we are buying from someone who actually cares for their Shepherds!

Thanks in advance!

Nate K

·
Super Moderator
16,941 Posts
Hi Nate - I'm sure other can give you reccommendations for your area, I'd like to give you some insight on some of the things you mentioned in your post.

A GSD from a good, reputable breeder that does all the health testing and temperament testing through training and trialing thier breeding dogs will run you around 1500-2000 for a working line dog, and 2500 and up for a show line.