German Shepherds Forum banner

Looking for good training/behavior books -- Total Newbie

2K views 20 replies 11 participants last post by  davewis 
#1 ·
Two weeks ago I got a used three Volume set of Handbook of Applied Dog Behavior and Training. I have been trying to read 30 minutes every evening and think about that bit of theory as I work with Ole the following day. It is turning into a bit of a slog.

Does anyone have any good books that they would recommend that have a slightly lower learning curve?

I would still like to read the series this winter. When spring rolls around I'll have much less time available.

#8 ·

This book has a nice German Shepherd on the front, but that's not why I liked it...!
I really liked her explanations about how positive training works with the way dogs think, and her explanations about how to train positively using lures/cues and how it works. I read it after our K9 manners obedience class which used the same techniques (but without the canine psychology explaining).

#10 ·
Canine Body Language by Brenda Aloff - could come useful for someone wanting to see real images of dogs "languages" rather than reading about them.
Schutzhund Obedience : Training in Drive by Sheila Booth, Gottfried Dildei seems to be a good one too. I'm casually flipping through it. Supposedly Sheila trained with my current TD Armin Winkler.
Schutzhund: Theory and Training Methods by Susan Barwig as well.
I've just started ordering a lot of Schutzhund books. The methods are older but interesting and could be worth trying out.
Playtraining Your Dog by Patricia Gail Burnham is another my breeder recommmended. She mentioned she disagreed with the conclusion the author had but found that some of the techniques were useful. I haven't had a moment to sit down and thumb through my copy.

#11 ·