German Shepherds Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all,
This is my first time posting as a brand new shepherd owner. We picked up our 3 year old shepherd on Friday. She is settling reasonably well Im just looking for some advice. But first a little background. She has lived outside in a kennel until now as a breeding dog she is very submissive and her socialization and with people seems lacking although considering she's doing okay and seems to have bonded with me already
1) eating: she will only eat if I hand feed her and only lays down whilst eating. She doesn't seem to actively go to her food or water unless I bring it to her and even then is only eating half the recommended amount.
2) toilet training : as she has lived in a kennel this area is probably lacking although I wouldnt really know as she doesn't seem to go. In nearly 72 hours she's had 3 bowel movement(only 1 inside over night) but only 1 wee (also inside over night) I keep trying to take her out but she just doesn't seem interested. It seems like a really long time for her to be holding her bladder.

Any suggestions much appreciated

·
Super Moderator
5,860 Posts
She's just bewildered.She has no idea why or how she ended up in a new home.She will acclimate in her own time,six days,six months.....it takes as long as it takes:)When you take her out walk her around and let her sniff.It helps her to relax and gets her system activated.Praise and treat when she goes outside!Crate training will help if you aren't already.

·
Registered
3,645 Posts