German Shepherds Forum banner

1 - 20 of 34 Posts

·
Registered
24 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I’m looking for anyone who has actual experience with a particular breeder. I live in the middle of puppy mill country and I absolutely want a proven and healthy dog. I’m new to GSDs and would really like to find a breeder that knows their pups well enough and spends the time with them that they pick the pup for you according to what I want from the dog. I’ve searched so much my head is spinning. Any recommendations to check out would be greatly appreciated.
Thanks

·
Registered
30,381 Posts
Widen your area :)

Sitz von der hose/ Olgameister - Marion NY (I have a dog from them)
Warkonhaus - State College PA (I have a dog from them)
Vom Haus Weinbrand - Ohio
Quellwasser - Indiana
Diehlomov - Indiana
von IBSO - Harrisburg ( I train with them and know many of their dogs)
Sturmfalken - Watertown NY (I know several of her dogs)
Marty Segretto just bred his female who is very nice - Lovettsville, VA

BTW - Nationals is in Pittsburgh this year. Come watch and meet people.

·
Registered
24 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thank you. I am going to make plans to go to Pittsburgh. I would have never know about that if not for you telling me. In the mean time i will check out some of the names you provided.

·
Registered
30,381 Posts
It's the USCA Nationals, 1st weekend of Nov. look on germanshepherddog.com

Wildhaus in Michigan
Joeri Veth in Pittsburgh.

You have many choices :)

·
Registered
833 Posts
I would look at von der Gill Haus in Ohio. I have no direct experience with him, but know he has been breeding German Shepherds from strong lines for many years with the goal of producing dog capable of police work.

·
Super Moderator
18,673 Posts
Do you have any in mind yet or are you looking specifically for suggestions?

Also, what are you looking for specifically? What are your goals for your future puppy/dog?

·
Registered
24 Posts
Discussion Starter #7