German Shepherds Forum banner

1 - 20 of 164 Posts

·
Registered
1,735 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am a total noon, I do so well with my point and shoot, just because I am a designer, have the editing software and a good eye. I think i can do well with DSLR, but I need help getting on my feet.

• What lens will I need to take a good portrait? love blurred background
happy. | Flickr - Photo Sharing!

• What lens to take a shot like this: http://www.germanshepherds.com/forum/pictures-pictures-pictures/265754-matured-well-stacked-some-cuz-love.html

• And Motion?

P.S. unfortunately I cant spend over 1k, that's the main reason I am going to stick to canon =( any help would be great. If you have a canon, any of the rebels, please post a pic and tell me what lens was used?

·
Registered
1,513 Posts
blurred background and motion is your aperture and shutter speed, not really the lens.

IMO the stock lens (the lens it comes with) could take those pictures.

I like my 135mm lens for portraits, but everyone has their own preference.

·
Registered
1,735 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I heard get a 50mm and the kit comes with 18-55 and 70-300. what is the 70-300 for?

·
Registered
1,513 Posts
I heard get a 50mm and the kit comes with 18-55 and 70-300. what is the 70-300 for?
zooming into something far away. I don't use mine very often. I'm more into macro photography.

·
Registered
1,554 Posts
I don't know much about cameras at all (and am definitely still a newbie)... and I know nothing about Canons, but I can provide some personal experience and picture examples. Hopefully that will help until one of the photographers on the forum comes along.

• What lens will I need to take a good portrait? love blurred background
happy. | Flickr - Photo Sharing!
All of the pictures from the above thread are taken with my 50mm f/1.8, and while I'm not sure what lens was used for the photo you linked, you'd be able to achieve the same effect with the 50mm.