German Shepherds Forum banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi Gang,
My first post here. I've had Borzoi for over 30 years, Silken Windhounds for over 10 and now have my first German Shepherd. I've had a lot of success in the conformation ring and in the field with both breeds. I now have my first German Shepherd. (FYI - I've had Corgis and a Belgium Tervurun in the past). Initially I was just looking for a good representative of the breed and not necessarily looking to show. But, when it's in your blood. LOL
Anyhow, my girl is from average size parents (both GCH's) and would like to know if at 6 months is 47 lbs an average/good weight for her?

·
Registered
2,123 Posts
Hello and welcome to the forum! 47 lbs sounds good to me for a young female, but I'm no expert. I just try to keep my GSDs on the lean side with a nice tuck in the waist and don't pay that much attention to weight. I'm looking forward to hearing more about your pup. Pictures would be wonderful. I love sight-hounds also! How do they get along with your shepherd? I hope you are enjoying your first GSD.

·
Registered
10,025 Posts
Just curious about your switch from sight hounds to GSDs. I switched from Whippets to GSDs after the old racers died because we now live rural and Whippets were too injury prone. And a GSD was always on my bucket list so I am working on that already ;)
But I do miss my speedy comfort junkies.

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
I went to submit a photo but it seems I have to have 3 post in order to be able to do so.
Eventually............sigh
Melissa

·
Super Moderator
18,687 Posts
I went to submit a photo but it seems I have to have 3 post in order to be able to do so.
Eventually............sigh
Melissa
You should now be good to go. :)

·
Registered
10,025 Posts
Oh no, have not switched. She's in addition to my Borzoi and Silkens. <g>
Melissa