German Shepherds Forum banner

1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
712 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I couldn't find a venting forum, and just had to share this, so I am posting it here.

Yesterday I was at a dog benefit type event, where a police K9 demonstration was a scheduled attraction. On tap were two sherrifs and two Malinois.

Believe me when I tell you that I almost lost my cookies when it became quite obvious that one of the dogs could not be called off on command. As a trainer myself experienced at K9 protection work, I simply could not believe that this dog was active in the field.

While some people might think, "Who cares, because any crook that has a K9 let loose on them deserves all they get," consider the fate of an innocent citizen if such a dog were to make a mistake and target the wrong person. Worse yet, consider the fate of such a dog that were to make such a mistake. In fact, recently in my area, a K9 was shot to death because when sent after an alleged criminal, the dog latched onto an officer instead, by mistake. The dog could not be stopped and was eventually shot and killed.

While I know better than to cast blame on a handler, and I really want to blame the crappy trainers for such shoddy work, I guess the real blame lies with whomever is responsible for retaining the services of these inept trainers. I mean, maybe it's just me, but I can call my dog off of ANYTHING, a bite, a chasing of wildlife, whatever. To not be able to control a dog, especially a K9, is just downright unfathomable and irresponsible.

Thanks for providing a place for me to vent. And, now back to your normally scheduled programming....:eek:

·
Registered
1,988 Posts