German Shepherds Forum banner

1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
1,300 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Whenever I see a person come to a forum wanting another German Shepherd and they have a female, they always say they want a male. They say they don't want two females because of fighting. So my question is if a person owns two females is there more of a chance of them fighting than two males? Or is it other factors other than the gender that really creates the fighting?

·
Registered
10,132 Posts
There are always exceptions, but in general a female/female pairing is more likely to fight than either two (neutered) males or a male and a female. I'm not experienced with non-neutered males so that's why I didn't address those.

·
Registered
2,951 Posts
Bitches are nasty,lol I've had two neutered males and 2 un-neutered males without issue, but two females...not a great idea honestly. My girl can not play with her mom anymore- they fight though she is still good with one of her sisters. She fights with the other sister and strangely has never had an issue with a strange female dog out and about, but then again they weren't in our house:)

·
Premium Member
3,779 Posts
I got a female after my male to help ensure there would be no fighting. My parents have 2 females (boykin spaniels though), and they live mostly peacefully, but I think thats because the younger is very much submissive to the elder... they do occasionally get into it.

·
Premium Member
27,460 Posts
I think IN GENERAL having a male/female (or female/male) helps make sure the dogs get along. Specially cause alot of newbies are clueless about making sure they get dogs from responsible breeders who raise dogs with a solid temperment AND/OR clueless about the training and socialization we need to do to help make our dogs good when with others.