German Shepherds Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
48 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Okay, my baby Enoch who is almost 5 months has been trying to mount me. This is my first male dog so I'm completely new to this. Does this have to do with pack structure or just a stage he is going through. I think I'm doing a decent job being a pack leader. I walk out of doors first, he sits before he eats etc.. My brother and I are the ones that spend the most time with him but I do all of the training. He hasn't tried to mount my brother but he has with me. Is this him trying to dominate me? If so, what could I be doing wrong where he thinks he can? Also how do you correct it? Right now I say a firm no and just pull him off of me. I can kind of gage when he looks like he is about to do it and I stop him before it happens. I notice he does it in the morning when I'm about to take him out to play. I know this may seem like a minor issue and it is. I know I'm blessed that I don't have problems with him eating poop \:\) but I definitely don't want an 80# dog mounting me no matter how much I love him. So, should I ignore him or is this a sign of me not being a strong enough pack leader?

·
Registered
340 Posts
IMO, it has nothing to do with your ability to show pack leadership. I wouldn't get to worked up about it, if you do he may enjoy the attention he gets. You might try ignoring the behavior, turn around and go on with your business. The more of a deal you make of it, the more he's going to find it fun.

Its typical behavior, females will do it to. If he is doing it primarily before he's about to go play...maybe he's just anticipating the fun and he gets excited. Try to be really non-chalant when its time to go out...in other words...don't YOU get all excited and use excited language towards him...you know what I mean? That can get them amped up.