German Shepherds Forum banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I started her on a raw diet composing of - chicken neck, ground beef, ground pork, chicken gizzards, liver, eggs, some fruits and veggies - around May this year. I feed her around 1kg per day. Clearly I am quite new to raw feeding, but I have done my research on the balance of these ingredients. I also know that dogs that have a transition from kibble to raw diet will go thru some sort of detox. I have read that I should not be seeing her skin when the detox starts. I noticed this hair loss started last week, so about a month since I started feeding her raw. I am just wondering if this is just her starting to detox or should I be concerned about allergies? the area inside the red circle in my 2 attached photos were full of hair before, the other side is in the same situation.

also, I don't know if I should post this in this thread or in the raw feeding thread. sorry if I posted in the wrong place.

Attachments

·
Premium Member
4,735 Posts
Because most prepared dog food is chucked full of chemicals and additives, when switched to a raw diet, the immune system is affected and they begin a “healing” or "detoxing, or as some people call it a "herxing".

Excreting these toxins could take from a few days, to a few months, depending on how much toxic waste his system has held on to (all dogs are different). A dog will have even more toxins in his system from the vaccinations he’s had and if he has been treated with topical insecticides’. Some dogs will have a mild detox some won’t, some a huge detoxing.

A dog's body has to release these toxins and it is excreted in different ways.