German Shepherds Forum banner

1 - 20 of 31 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hi, I am new to this GSD forum. It's just 2 months ago he joined our family. He is Simba as my sister is fond of Lion king. We wanted to buy a gsd puppy with certificates, but due to covid 19 lockdown in my region we couldn't. Breeder confirms that the puppy is a long coat GSD as mother and father both are long coat. Simba is in good condition and very active. But I feel like he is medium coat puppy. I just want to confirm with you guys. He is 77 days old. He has fur between paws. He has just shiny single coat. Very less hairs in his bottom belly. I have attached his images from age 77 days to 32 days.
IMG_20200706_133754.jpg

77 days old

IMG_20200608_114627.jpg

52 days old

IMG_20200520_145358.jpg

36 days old

IMG_20200520_141522.jpg

32 days old

IMG_20200522_180448.jpg
38 days old

IMG_20200522_180454.jpg

38 days old

·
Registered
137 Posts
He’s beautiful :)
I’m guessing long. I’ve only had short coats and none of them were ever that fluffy as puppies. Their coats go through different stages when they’re puppies but short seems to be an even length the whole time.

·
Registered
616 Posts
The younger pictures do look pretty fluffy. But the older picture is very different. I would say he's a stock, or normal coat. He lacks the characteristic ear floof that is pretty indicative of a long coat.

Cute pup whatever coat he turns out to have. I vote stock coat.

·
Registered
1,429 Posts
Well if I hadn’t seen the most recent picture of him, I might have agreed on long coat (though I’d like to see a picture of him next to a littermate to compare), but seeing the newest picture, he’s definitely a stock coat. Enjoy him anyway, as I’m sure you will!

·
Super Moderator
7,915 Posts
he’s not collared in his younger photos - if the earlier photos are from the breeder (he’s very young), are you certain these are all the same puppy?

Reactions: Martin and Pawsed

·