German Shepherds Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
25 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
So no red flags in the pedigrees?

I know some frown on crossing working lines with show lines, but it can done be well right? From what I see, this breeding is 1/4 German show from Sire's side (Wenzel). Dam is 100% working line.

Seems like a well thought out, balanced breeding but I'm not experienced in reading pedigrees.

·
Super Moderator
18,687 Posts
Wenzel produced quite well with both show and working bitches. Crosses can work when the right dogs are used. I don't know Yasso, but saw his dam when she was first imported. She was a very nice female. I believe Yasso's brother is/was a police K9.

·
Registered
5,452 Posts
I think this is a very good breeding. You can cross SL with WL but it’s generation 2,3 that become important. This pedigree would be 3/4 WL and 1/4 SL. That’s the right direction toward restoring good genetic balance. I think you would get some very nice pups out of this breeding. Good, sound, goodlookin* German Shepherds. The line people ( sport/show) might not like them, but the founder probably would.

·
Registered
510 Posts
I think this is a very good breeding. You can cross SL with WL but it’s generation 2,3 that become important. This pedigree would be 3/4 WL and 1/4 SL. That’s the right direction toward restoring good genetic balance. I think you would get some very nice pups out of this breeding. Good, sound, goodlookin* German Shepherds. The line people ( sport/show) might not like them, but the founder probably would.

@cliffson1 - Interesting observation regarding the sport/show folks. Did you say that because each "camp" only likes their own undiluted lines?

·
Registered
5,452 Posts

@cliffson1 - Interesting observation regarding the sport/show folks. Did you say that because each "camp" only likes their own undiluted lines?