German Shepherds Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
52 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I went to my breeder for her to show me the parents of the puppy im going to be getting in July and the Mother is Silver and Black and the Father is Black and Tan, I would like to have a traditional Black and tan but im not so sure of what I will get? Anyone have some idea's??? :)

·
Registered
7,261 Posts
I have no experience with genetics, but I think blk/tan would be dominant. My females came from the same color scenario. Zoey is a "washed" blk/tan & the rest of the pups were typical black/tan.

·
Registered
41 Posts
Zaks mum was golden sable and his dad was pure white long coat, out of 11 pups there were no sables, 2 white long coats and 9 black and tans with various coat lengths. I dont think you can tell what you will get till they arrive,but you can guarantee they will be gorgeous.

·
Registered
31,707 Posts
My understanding is there really is no such thing as "silver". The Silver is really just a washed out tan. So the puppies will be black/tan with varying pigment to the tan.

·
Banned
15,195 Posts
what color does your breeder think they're going to be?

I went to my breeder for her to show me the parents of the puppy im going to be getting in July and the Mother is Silver and Black and the Father is Black and Tan, I would like to have a traditional Black and tan but im not so sure of what I will get? Anyone have some idea's??? :)

·
Registered
2,084 Posts
"silver" is just a washed out tan. So the pups will likely be black and tan like the parents. Could be pure black, could be blanket back, less likely bicolor and probably very unlikely sable. As pups you should be able to see which ones will have richer pigments, more "tan" like, and which ones will have lighter pigment, "silver"

·
Registered
9,796 Posts
And there's always a slight chance that a pup will be white (depending on if the parents carry the white gene of course). :)

·
Registered
9,796 Posts