German Shepherds Forum banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm just beginning the search for our next GSD. I'm in the DC area.

Our current GSD will be 9 next month, and is slowing down big time. I'm a dog trainer and use him for work multiple times per week (mostly to demo things and as the "neutral dog" when needed for behavior cases).

I'm looking for a dog who can be my work partner, but who is solid enough to be around my small children (will be 6 & 3 next year).

Ideally, high ball and food drives.

I also need, of course, a healthy dog with a physical structure that can work.

I'm considering working this dog in IPO, will definitely work this next dog in obedience, and will ideally get a dog who can be used as a demo dog and neutral dog with clients.

I have two small kids and live/work in an urban area, so a dog with the temperament to handle that kind of social setting is key. Would like a very solid and confident dog who could handle lots of different environments and scenarios.

We also have a small dog (under 15 lbs).

So, long story short - healthy, physically and mentally solid, working lines, confident, social, and high food and ball drives.

We've been very spoiled, in that our current GSD meets almost all of those criteria. Looking to get lucky twice!

My ideal colors (in order of preference) are dark sable, bi-color, black, or a really rich black and red. Just from a random google search...

(^ If I could choose my dream dog appearance, it would be something like this)

(^ These 2 are my actual dog, I love his head/face)

I'm just starting to look at breeders now. We would ideally add the puppy in 2022. I'm willing to travel almost anywhere. My budget is flexible, though I would ideally like to stay under $5,000.

I've looked at a ton of websites, but I'd love to hear from any of you who personally own or know dogs similar to what I am describing.

Can any of you help me out? Thanks!

·
Registered
140 Posts