German Shepherds Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
5,655 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Kidding, sort of. I used to show horses, and when I was younger I competed in obedience with a couple of my dogs. I am a bit old, so methods taught were a bit older. My nature was to gentle things down, and I did. But I tried the whole pure positive thing and it was a total bust.
When I started with the patrol dogs we used KMODT.
When I started training Sabs I did things the way my boss required, and it didn't work for me. So Sabi and I discussed it and we agreed that when the boss was around or when we did our monthly recert she would pretend to be well trained so we could keep working.
When he asked if she could do detection work I asked and she said sure. So I showed her what I wanted her to find and promised treats if she found it. She never missed. Lol. Tracking was a bit more involved but basically the same. I told a kid to go to the park and hide, showed her his jacket and said get me a kid. She did. She found everyone I ever asked her to. No problem.
Shadow is ruled by her nose. So when I taught her to find things, I showed her the odor I wanted and said find it. She does. I use anise most often because I happened to have some oil when I decided to teach her, but we have used sandalwood, agrimony, cinquefoil or whatever else I have handy. It ain't always pretty but she finds it. Lol.
Tracking was the same. Instead of tracking a rabbit I want you to track humans. I don't know how to teach tracking, I just refocused what she does. And she is good. Again not pretty but she's tough to shake. She keeps her nose to the ground I would guess when she is sorting things out and is pretty methodical, then the head comes up and she picks up speed. Sometimes she will stop and circle with her nose in the air, then we are off again. She is never wrong, she always finds whoever I set her on.
Anyway, I joined this forum and realized that wow, we suck! Lol.