German Shepherds Forum banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
41 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I need some help with my little boy Jaxon. He is 8 months and starting to get into the typical devil-ish stage (which I can handle). I have been battling an anxiety / fear issue with him since I got him at 3 months old.

I got him from breeder in the hills of WV so his acclimation to people wasn’t great before I got him. Ill list some of his behavioral traits

Pros:

· He's amazing around people he knows well. Great loyal GSD
· He’s great with other dogs. Plays with a little 10lb sparkplug all day and is nice and considerate of how small he is.
· He is not food aggressive towards people he knows or other dogs.
· He knows his owner. Is loyal to me. Respects me, no matter how made I make him sometimes.

Cons:

· He is terrified / aggressive to strangers (more indoors than out)
· If they don’t look at him or try and touch him, he usually is ok.
· If someone he doesn’t know tries to approach him, his stance widens, glands open up, barks and lunges at them with a fright bite (snap and retreat, snap and retreat)
· He will try his hardest to avoid people by at least 5 feet.
· If anyone strange is up in my/his room, he will go into his crate where he sleeps and go nuts. (which is a territory trait I know)
· Walks - He is ok on walks. Will pass people on sidewalk but will shift to the outside / opposite side of me. He doesn’t like when people are too closely following. He walks with his head turned backwards.

It takes me about 30 minutes to get him acclimated to a stranger using treats. Once he sees that person enough, he is good with them.