German Shepherds Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
208 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am seventeen and currently own a beautiful, wonderful two year old neutered male Shepherd by the name of Phoenix.
I have always had dogs my whole life and raise and train sled dogs, so I am no novice when it come to dog handling.
I have always admired shepherds and wanted one as long as I can remember. I am blessed with great parents who allowed me to go and pick out a puppy from a breeder they had heard about.
The breeding "Facility" was awful, the puppies were in an atrocious area, and they had a child who was manhandling the pups horribly.
Anyway, just some background on him.
I have socialized him all his life, and neutered him at a young age. he is very obedient, and one of the smartest dogs I know, basically everything that I could ever want in a dog.
Except for the territorial aggression.
He is horribly aggressive when people come to the house if they are not in the immediate "pack", barking and snarling. My parents say that it is worse when i am home, because he is very much MY dog, but if he is under my control, he is fine.
He doesn't have a problem with people if they abide by his rules and DO NOT touch him until he has given them "Permission", but as soon as someone tried to touch him, he jumps closer, snarling. He has never bitten anyone, but I am TERRIFIED that the day is coming. I love this dog more than I could ever say, and couldn't BEAR to lose him.
Earlier today a woman who works for my mom was in our driveway where he couldn't see her, and she was driving a different truck than normal He intimidates her, but they have been getting along fine for a while. My back was turned, and he started running, but I didn't think much of it until I heard his aggressive bark begin. I thought he was going to bite her.
She yelled at him, which surprised him I think, and i got hold of him.