German Shepherds Forum banner

1 - 20 of 48 Posts

·
Registered
1,300 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Why is it when someone comes to this section and askes about breeder recommendations, someone will probably ask, "What lines?"

I talked to a breeder, asked them about the lines and to break it down.

My point is, isn't a working dog a working dog?

I mean, if someone comes here and says,
"I am a police officer and we're looking for a breeder that produces dogs that sniff out drugs." (Not saying a police officer would say that, but just giving an example)

Why does someone respond, "What lines?" Why does it matter? I'm sorry, I just don't get it.

·
Registered
31,971 Posts
My guess is that different working lines have a variety of different characteristics that might make the choice of one over another for a particular application better.

·
Premium Member
27,460 Posts
People have a mental picture of what kind of dog they want. Really.

So even though many of them say 'I want the best GSD for finding drugs' if I gave them a breeder who only breeds White GSD's and that doesn't fit their mental picture, then the nose of the dog won't matter.

The other thing has to do with people's background and experience. Cause though they may SAY they want a working line dog, if this is the first puppy they've ever had/trained/raised, it may turn out to NOT be what they wanted at all......

Fact of the matter is, when I talk to people who want a GSD and mention 'what lines are you interested in' and they look at me like I have 2 heads and am suddenly speaking a foreign language, I know these same people need to do a whole lot more research. Cause if they don't know about the different lines, I've found they also don't know all the health and temperament issues in the breed, and that the trip they were making to the pet store to pick up their new puppy may want to be put off.

·
Registered
1,300 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
I see, so it's like fruit.